WD Marvel Repair Tool

Утилита для восстановления HDD WD Marvel

Текущее время: 27 май 2017, 21:08

  • Часовой пояс: UTC




    Начать новую тему  Ответить на тему  [ 69 сообщений ]  На страницу Пред. 1 2 3 4 57 След.
    Автор Сообщение
     Заголовок сообщения: Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc
    СообщениеДобавлено: 01 янв 2017, 19:11 
    Не в сети
    Аватара пользователя

    Зарегистрирован: 02 янв 2016, 09:05
    Сообщения: 153
    Откуда: Portugal - Europe
    DISK_ECU_UNSAFE_ERROR Normally means that you have bad sectors / errors preventing module to be read.

    Looks like DIR is damaged or you have bad sectors on SA so when WDMarvel attempts to read the DIR module it fails.

    _________________
    The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


    Вернуться к началу
     Заголовок сообщения: Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc
    СообщениеДобавлено: 01 янв 2017, 19:19 
    Не в сети

    Зарегистрирован: 01 янв 2017, 10:28
    Сообщения: 33
    How do i know if the module is 11 or 01?

    The files just seem to use a date in there name. attached below.

    to answer your previous question - When plugging in the drive i can hear it trying to seek, it's no louder than i would expect any other drive to be upon starting, after that i think it spinsdown.


    Вложения:
    Backup.zip [2.23 КБ]
    57 скачиваний
    Вернуться к началу
     Заголовок сообщения: Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc
    СообщениеДобавлено: 01 янв 2017, 19:30 
    Не в сети
    Аватара пользователя

    Зарегистрирован: 17 июл 2015, 12:45
    Сообщения: 356
    Откуда: Poland
    Severence read my topics, because you have identical symptoms with SA Faulty(Firmware is corrupt)
    1: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=751
    2: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=787
    3: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1807
    4: http://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?t=32608
    5: http://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33822
    My disc is WD2002FAEX-007BA0, and this drive is working fine, with new Firmware.

    _________________
    Hello everyone, sorry for my english, because am using google translator.


    Вернуться к началу
     Заголовок сообщения: Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc
    СообщениеДобавлено: 01 янв 2017, 19:58 
    Не в сети

    Зарегистрирован: 01 янв 2017, 10:28
    Сообщения: 33
    Thanks Peter,

    Unfortunately the first two threads aren't accessible for me, but i'll definitely read through the two on hddguru too see if it's a solution.

    Thanks


    Вернуться к началу
     Заголовок сообщения: Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc
    СообщениеДобавлено: 01 янв 2017, 21:40 
    Не в сети
    Аватара пользователя

    Зарегистрирован: 02 янв 2016, 09:05
    Сообщения: 153
    Откуда: Portugal - Europe
    Severence писал(а):
    Thanks Peter,

    Unfortunately the first two threads aren't accessible for me, but i'll definitely read through the two on hddguru too see if it's a solution.

    Thanks


    Peter threads are about refurb/reuse drives by using ARCO and SS. Those procedures will erase all the data on the drive, if you were alble to run them (and most likely you can't and that is good for you).

    If you really need the data out of the drive your best choice now is to consult with a professional data recovery firm. At this point it might be a cheap recovery and you don't want to make it un-recoverable by trying random things with the software.

    At any rate if you don't want to pay for professioal services then you will need at least a full working copy of WDMarvel (or any other WD firmware tool) and you need to understand some basic concepts about WD firmware restauration/repair.

    Basic procedure would be :

    - Detect the drive in PIO (my guess is that you have some problems with DRIVERS on your windows installation. You should be able to select PIO even with WDMarvel DEMO. I think that you should run WDMarvell with full admin priviledges and you MUST make sure that you have 32 bit os or that you allow installation of un-signed drivers).
    - Backup ROM.
    - Block SA access at boot up by changing regions.
    - Power off/on.
    - Get compatible donor FW for the same model and FW version.
    - Load Loader (mod 11) to RAM.
    - Set regions back in RAM.
    - Load DIR (mod 01) in RAM.
    - Attempt to read S/A.


    - You might need to use compatible ROM+Loader to get to original SA and then use module 11 with native ROM.

    In any case i don't think that you will be able to do this repair without professional help or at least without playing with WD firmware first and experimenting allot with good drives.

    Regards and good luck.

    _________________
    The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


    Вернуться к началу
     Заголовок сообщения: Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc
    СообщениеДобавлено: 02 янв 2017, 01:53 
    Не в сети

    Зарегистрирован: 01 янв 2017, 10:28
    Сообщения: 33
    Hello again Spildit.

    Although it would be nice to recover the data, which largely consists of my own video encodes which took hours upon... upon hours (over years) to encode i don't think it warrants professional services or the attached cost. it'd be nice to recover them but i wouldn't be completely heart broken if i couldn't.

    I'd love to learn or at least attempt recovery though. but your very much correct in that i need to understand some basic concepts first - as it is i'm clueless :)

    I was running windows 7 x64 in test mode with the WDMarvel drivers signed but the PIO option was still grayed out. So i ran the program under live miniXP and i do now have the ability to select PIO IDE mode as you said - i haven't thoroughly checked the ports to see if the drive was present just yet as it was somewhat confusing which drive was which, as i had several usb keys plugged in aswell as my main OS drive.

    I am not at all familiar with the terms and phrases which are used in the drive firmware scene, so i expect a lot of this will sound stupid. If you have any resources or links you could provide which explain some of this stuff for new users it would be much appreciated, your forum for example looks like a great resource for information.

    Presumably SA stands for safe area?
    Modules are saved areas of the SA?
    I don't understand the numbering in relation in the mod files?
    Which tool/program would you reccomend i use?

    *edit so after a bit of reading i see SA stands for service area, and in the service area are numbered modules, is this correct? how do the modules and in turn the module numbers correlate with the backup .mod files that WDMarvel creates?

    Again, i really appreciate you taking the time to help me out like this.

    Thanks


    Вернуться к началу
     Заголовок сообщения: Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc
    СообщениеДобавлено: 03 янв 2017, 00:32 
    Не в сети
    Аватара пользователя

    Зарегистрирован: 02 янв 2016, 09:05
    Сообщения: 153
    Откуда: Portugal - Europe
    Hello again.

    It will be very hard to attempt to explain the basics of data recovery at firmware level without spending a huge amount of time trying to explain the basic concepts. It will require lots of study and time.

    If you are willing to learn start by reading all the topics here - http://www.hddoracle.com/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=176

    This will cover the basic concepts and you have research and experiments there as well.

    By SA i mean Service Area or sectors on the platters that are not accessible by LBA (logic block address) notation and containing firmware code is "module" format. Firmware is stored on ROM chip (just a little bit that contains the ROM code + Rom modules) and on platters there are several tracks containing firmware modules like the DIR module (01) that lists all the other modules with their location on the platters, the config module (02) with configuration parameters and passwords, etc ...

    Each module have a ID/Number and a specific function.

    As for programs if you only intend to repair your WD Marvel drive then WDMarvel full version should be more then enough assuming you can use it correctly.

    If you use WDMarvel on a known good drive start by clearing all of the files on the WDMarvel working folder. Then dump ROM and go to S/A operations and read all modules. They should have a number and should be saved as little binary files.

    Regards.

    _________________
    The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


    Вернуться к началу
     Заголовок сообщения: Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc
    СообщениеДобавлено: 03 янв 2017, 03:12 
    Не в сети

    Зарегистрирован: 01 янв 2017, 10:28
    Сообщения: 33
    Hi Spildit,

    Thanks for your detailed response and the provided link. I'll read through and see if i can make sense of it all. If i'm able to come up with a solution i'll be sure to let you know.

    Thanks again for your help.


    Вернуться к началу
     Заголовок сообщения: Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc
    СообщениеДобавлено: 03 янв 2017, 23:18 
    Не в сети
    Аватара пользователя

    Зарегистрирован: 02 янв 2016, 09:05
    Сообщения: 153
    Откуда: Portugal - Europe
    Severence писал(а):
    Hi Spildit,

    Thanks for your detailed response and the provided link. I'll read through and see if i can make sense of it all. If i'm able to come up with a solution i'll be sure to let you know.

    Thanks again for your help.


    Ok !!!

    Good luck and let us know of your progress !

    Also you can buy a full version of WDMarvel and play with it !!!
    Remember the DEMO will not write anything to the drive.

    Regards.

    _________________
    The HDD Oracle - Platform for OPEN research on Data Recovery.


    Вернуться к началу
     Заголовок сообщения: Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc
    СообщениеДобавлено: 07 мар 2017, 16:54 
    Не в сети

    Зарегистрирован: 01 янв 2017, 10:28
    Сообщения: 33
    OK, bit of an update on this.

    I think the drive is likely well beyond repair at this point and I'm sure in the process of trying to fix it i have made it far worse.... but hey, it was either play around and give it a go, or throw it away, as i don't have the money or inclination for professional data recovery. in any event hopefully the following info will prove useful for somebody - although some of this may be common knowledge for those in the know - it definitely wasn't for me, nor could i find much info online in regards to some of the problems i was having. bear in mind allot of what i say from here on could be factually wrong so please don't take it for gospel, this really isn't my area.

    Drive Details
    Drive: WD Caviar Green 2TB
    Model: WD20EADS-22R6B0
    Board: 2060-771642-001 Rev-P1
    MCU: 88i8945-TFJ2
    DCM: HARCNV2ABB

    OK so after the issues mentioned earlier in the thread i came to the conclusion that it may be a ROM problem, more specifically a translator problem, which as far as i understand is a module Incorporated in ROM - although i dumped the ROM with WDMarvel (and various other programs) and they all matched the original dump taken at the very beginning, i figured it there was no harm in re-writing the rom to the drive...maybe the MCU has a parallel flash alongside the External Rom chip and maybe theres something wrong with one or the other and re-writing may solve the problem i thought...... So all lights are green and i write the ROM file, the write has been successful apparently...

    Ok but, after this the drive basically acted as if it wasn't even connected at all... in pio mode or otherwise....shit. next thought was I'll check the external Rom and see whats up, checked it with my programmer, and the ROM is completely blank...what the. so i manually write the ROM dumped by WDMarvel to the external ROM chip with my programmer - i have high hopes at this point that at the very least it'll take me back to square one, but alas... nada, nothing, zip.

    Ok, so my next train of thought was maybe the external Rom chip was blank all along and the drive uses an exclusive internal Rom, so now comes the question of how do i write to the internal ROM without PIO drive access. Some searching points to a program U-Command which writes the ROM via UART adaptor - again i appreciate this is common knowledge, but what wasn't was which pins enable UART "X-modem" mode on my specific drive. I found some pins (details on the pins a bit later) which seem to enable UART terminal access, and i could read and write address's if i so wished but either the drive still isn't in the so called "X-Modem" state or U-command simply isn't compatible with my particular drive/board. there very well maybe a specific command which can be issued via terminal to put the drive into a special state but hell if i know it and i could find barely any info elsewhere, I'd also guess that you could manually write ROM/modules provided you know there addresses/locations but again... hell if i know.

    What now... i tried the common Kernel mode by shorting the known pins on the 8pin header and got nothing. hmmm, i got to thinking that maybe there is something wrong with original ROM dump made by WDMarvel and even the subsequent dumps, so i manually checked them all with a hex editor and sure enough they're all the same. Now i download some ROM files from near identical drives and notice that in comparison my ROM file seems to be missing an awful lot of information - specifically the data which is comparable to mod 0A,0B,0B,47 - in my Roms flash file these areas are completely empty. i have no idea if this is normal or not..... luckily? i had taken a backup with another program which i completely forgot about until now... the Sediv trial, not only does the Rom file appear to have all needed data in reference to the previous mentioned modules but Sediv also backed up the modules independently - which is great as WDMarvel didn't - again i don't know if this is normal behaviour for the program or what, seems strange to me though.

    Right then, i took the Rom file dumped with sediv and again manually flashed external Rom with my programmer and once again i had high hopes I'd at the very least end back up at square one, but unfortunately no cigar, no PIO/Kernel/U-command access or otherwise, right - maybe kernel mode isn't defined by just some of the pins on the header but maybe i have to enable/short another point on the board to give me true ATA kernel access, so as far as i can tell this does in fact seem to be the case and i can once again get access to the drive over sata with the following pins/points shorted but there appears to limitations depending on which "mode" your in, i have no idea the technical terms for these modes or if they're even considered modes at all.... who knows.

    So Here's a very crude image based on an even cruder drawing i made while i was trying to figure this all out, you can see I've drew specific areas of interest which are generally unpopulated resistors and I've drawn it a manner in which it kinda aligns to the actual orientation of components on the board, As for the MCU pin numbers - they are likely not in the right order as there are two pin one "Spot" indicators on the chip - one big and one small, and i had to basically guess as to which one was actually indicating pin 1 (as there is no data sheet) irregardless just pretend my MCU pin numbering is correct as it is all relative to the orientation of the writing on the chip together with component location, spots etc.

    UART Terminal access
    TP-E62 > short > 3V3
    TP-E6 > 10K > 3v3

    "Kernel Mode"
    Short the relevent pins on 8-Pin 2.54 Header As well as TP-E62 > short > 3V3
    In this mode and with my drive in it's current condition the drive will now respond to reset commands and indicate but not much else.

    Same as above but without need to use 8-Pin 2.54 Header pins
    TP-E61 > 10K > 3V3
    TP-E62 > short > 3V3

    semi detect... i don't know name mode
    JTP36 > 22K >3V3
    JTP20 > short > GND
    TP-E61 > short > 3V3
    In this mode the drive is detected by WDmarvel, albeit incorrectly - showing giberish in the info boxes, it claims it has succesfully read the rom but upon checking the files is approx 16mb in size (instead of 192kb) it errors when attempting to write the Rom, when attempting to load overlays it errors "incorrect buffer size" when reading modules the data is filled with the same giberish Y (like) character shown in the drives info boxes etc. with WDR pro tool the drive identifies also but unlike WDmarvel it reports an LBA size which is interesting although i beleive it's wrong, also it will write the Rom (and independent rom modules) without error but it doesn't seem to stick. should be noted hower that this "mode" didn't seem to to work when i used WDmarvels incomplete Rom dump on the external Rom chip, it had to be the complete Rom dumped by sediv.

    I tried a multitude of other things to no avail, like i said earlier i am pretty sure i've made a fair few mistakes here along the way but i do hope this info will be even a tiny bit useful. it's like i won't be completely satisfied until this drive is completely dead ;)


    Вложения:
    Crude Drive IMG.png
    Crude Drive IMG.png [ 50.56 КБ | 508 просмотров ]
    Вернуться к началу
    Показать сообщения за:  Поле сортировки  
    Начать новую тему  Ответить на тему  [ 69 сообщений ]  На страницу Пред. 1 2 3 4 57 След.

  • Часовой пояс: UTC


    Кто сейчас на конференции

    Сейчас этот форум просматривают: нет зарегистрированных пользователей и 1 гость


    Вы не можете начинать темы
    Вы не можете отвечать на сообщения
    Вы не можете редактировать свои сообщения
    Вы не можете удалять свои сообщения
    Вы не можете добавлять вложения

    Найти:
    Перейти:  
    Восстановление информации с HDD
    2017 © WDmarvel.com