Problem with WD Marvel Demo

Questions about Wdmarvel capabilities
Аватара пользователя
Vlad
Разработчик
Сообщения: 4815
Зарегистрирован: 13 авг 2013, 07:53

Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc

Сообщение Vlad »

I do not think than you lying
But I am sure that empty ROM is result of your wrong actions
If you show me via teamviewer the drive, where dumps from WDMarvel and Sediv are different, we will discus you suggestions

I never seen, incorrect dump of ROM in any version of WDMarvel
No one user not wrote me about incorrect dumps
So, I do not see any usefull in functions that you are suggesting
Severence писал(а):i thought the OS might alter the resulting data
Program read data direct from drive, impossible
Severence писал(а):great software developer knows when to take constructive criticism. :)
Key word is constructive, not this case :)
Severence писал(а):Then why not just have the program do this automatically?
Because, only user know which FW he put in work folder
Maybe user still need this files?
Why program should rewrite them with other data?
Severence писал(а):translate the text into something readable let me know.
Thanks, but this can not be done in this way
Severence
Сообщения: 33
Зарегистрирован: 01 янв 2017, 10:28

Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc

Сообщение Severence »

Vlad писал(а):I do not think than you lying
But I am sure that empty ROM is result of your wrong actions
If you show me via teamviewer the drive, where dumps from WDMarvel and Sediv are different, we will discus you suggestions
Sure, however it will either have to be later on tonight or tomorrow, as my XP machine is a mess from all this experimenting and there's files everywhere and navigation for you will be difficult - let me clean it up a bit :) thanks!

However i think i know what your driving at, in the meantime I'll post a screencap of my WDMarvel directory and upload the Rom file/s aswell as the Rom dumped with sediv shortly - I'll also point out the offset in which the two differ in a hex editor
Vlad писал(а): I never seen, incorrect dump of ROM in any version of WDMarvel
No one user not wrote me about incorrect dumps
So, I do not see any usefull in functions that you are suggesting
I completely understand
Vlad писал(а): Key word is constructive, not this case :)
I appreciate my suggestions may not seem constructive or particularly useful from your point of view, but bear in mind your a pro - you not only created the program, but your intimately familiar with it, it's workings and terminology - my suggestions are from a new *English speaking users perspective - a new user who is going to make mistakes over the course of learning to use the software - sometimes it's hard to see the wood through the trees :)
Vlad писал(а): Because, only user know which FW he put in work folder
Maybe user still need this files?
Why program should rewrite them with other data?
It shouldn't overwrite anything, if the drive is new (not in set directory) it should be put in a folder relative to the drives model - if the model is undetected then the folder should say "unknown drive" if the files already exist it should create a new folder with the days date, if the date is the same it should create a new folder within it with the time etc etc, having options is good, having safety nets is good... I'm sure if you were to run a poll on this subject other users would be inclined to agree with me. as i said earlier - if it wasn't for these "safety nets" put in place by a program such as Sediv i currently would not have a valid and usable rom, and would be in a much worse position than i am currently

You have to remember your program doesn't (as far as i can see) have any real documentation in English - which means the only real way to learn anything is to mess around and try things - this can obviously lead to the previously mentioned mistakes - which makes having those options and safety nets all the more necessary

Vlad, i very much appreciate you responding and helping out like this.
Аватара пользователя
Vlad
Разработчик
Сообщения: 4815
Зарегистрирован: 13 авг 2013, 07:53

Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc

Сообщение Vlad »

Severence писал(а):I'll post a screencap of my WDMarvel directory and upload the Rom file/s aswell as the Rom dumped with sediv
I do not need a files or screencap
You can not know now, produced your files by "Read ROM" button, or by "Create ROM from SA copies" button
I want to see, that button "Read ROM" dumps empty FW
Severence писал(а):my suggestions may not seem constructive
Your suggestions grounds on the assumption, that ROM dump can be invalid
My point of view - ROM dump can not be invalid
Till we not have drive, where button "Read ROM" dumps empty FW, your suggestions is fighting with windmills
Severence писал(а):if the drive is new (not in set directory) it should be put in a folder relative to the drives model
Only one questions
When program should to do this?
Severence
Сообщения: 33
Зарегистрирован: 01 янв 2017, 10:28

Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc

Сообщение Severence »

Vlad, the files are in the PZU directory, they were not created from SA - i went no where near SA functions at this stage of using the program - the files were never in the SA folder - they're in the same root PZU directory they've always been in, as i did as Spildit suggested and immeditely backed up my WDMarvel directory in an archive when problems started to occur.

As i've said earlier the drive is no longer responding to commands since writing the invalid rom "like it's not even connected" and that includes trying to read the rom now - the only way i can get it to respond is by enabling the hardware "modes" mentioned earlier, and even then - in these modes a rom dump results in a file which is 16mb in size.... which is useless, unless you have any idea why this is the case?
Vlad писал(а):You can not know now, produced your files by "Read ROM" button, or by "Create ROM from SA copies" button
I want to see, that button "Read ROM" dumps empty FW
Sorry, my mistake i meant "read flash button" like i said above the drive will no longer respond to commands since writing the invalid rom.... Also i should note these invalid dumps are not completely empty, just the data relevent to the modules 0A, 0B etc... (attached)
Vlad писал(а): Your suggestions grounds on the assumption, that ROM dump can be invalid
My point of view - ROM dump can not be invalid
Till we not have drive, where button "Read ROM" dumps empty FW, your suggestions is fighting with windmills
Well other than the rom dumps missing the previously mentioned information, there has been other ocassions of invalid rom dumps, for example the obvious one - a 0kb file - again obvious, and another which i beleive was 355kb - these just seemed to be completely random and minor hiccups and these files were uncommon but they were dumped and again are invalid.... surely you are familiar with this? as i've seen several posts of people mentioning this - aswell as posts with people mentioning rom mismatches for 192kb/256kb files
Vlad писал(а): Only one questions
When program should to do this?
well i think you should make this feature optional (checkbox) but enabled by default - if/when enabled it should dump relevent files for all new drives (drives not defined in the set directory) when in PIO mode, if the drives model/name changes it should again dump all relevent info to the drives relevent folder. maybe provide a second optional checkbox for incremental auto backups or just have a set auto backup should the day change etc etc
Вложения
Flash 2016-12-28 03-10-29.rar
Invalid Flash
(16.4 КБ) 271 скачивание
Аватара пользователя
Vlad
Разработчик
Сообщения: 4815
Зарегистрирован: 13 авг 2013, 07:53

Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc

Сообщение Vlad »

Severence писал(а):Vlad, the files are in the PZU directory
Button on screen shot also save files in PZU folder, but this is not dump
And a little question, if you sure that "read flash button" dump invalid ROM, what a problem to show this via teamviewer?
Do you have copy of SA modules of this drive?
Severence писал(а):if the drives model/name changes it should again dump all relevent info to the drives relevent folder
How often program should read drive passport, to check that model changed?
What to do with commands launched by user and executed in this moment? :)
Why do I need to save resources every time when I edited the model in passport? :)
What to do, if I change model/serial of drive 1 to the model/serial of drive 2, but in the drive 2 folder already saved unical backup of FW?
Вложения
rom.png
rom.png (12.07 КБ) 3943 просмотра
Severence
Сообщения: 33
Зарегистрирован: 01 янв 2017, 10:28

Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc

Сообщение Severence »

Vlad, I'm not talking about the independent ROM modules but rather the data which is comparable and as far as i know which should be present in the main roms flash file. (raw data)

Here's how i originally got the (previously attached) rom file - i opened WDMarvel demo software, i hit button "read flash" i get the "ROM read successfully" in log - the resulting was 192kb in size and on first glance appears to be ok

But when checking this (previously attached) file in a hex editor it's missing data - as can bee seen in the attached image for example, although there is further differences when comparing the two.
How often program should read drive passport, to check that model changed?
What to do with commands launched by user and executed in this moment? :)
Why do I need to save resources every time when I edited the model in passport? :)
What to do, if I change model/serial of drive 1 to the model/serial of drive 2, but in the drive 2 folder already saved unical backup of FW?
When you hit detect - if the drive doesn't have a folder in the main directory based on the detection info...create folder, backup and dump relevant files. or like i said you could provide an option for interval based auto backup which could do polling -

honestly my main point here is having that safety net at least at first run - select drives port, hit detect "please wait, auto backup is in process" again - provide a checkbox to disable this feature in the future - done

The user won't be able to execute critical commands while the backup/dump is in progress - hence the reason for this being optional and having a checkbox - so the pros don't get annoyed :D

And it doesn't matter if the drives model is changed, if you hit detect and a new model is defined - new folder is created. if you mean both have the same model etc then it doesn't matter as your not overwriting files at this point - you'd just create a new dated/timed folder - I'd suggest looking at the Sediv trial if you want to see how i would recommend you do it - as that seems to work very well
Вложения
Sediv Flash.rar
Sediv Flash dump
(173.93 КБ) 263 скачивания
Rom comparison
Rom comparison
-WDMarvel-Rom compared -to Sediv-Rom-.jpg (237.45 КБ) 3942 просмотра
Аватара пользователя
Vlad
Разработчик
Сообщения: 4815
Зарегистрирован: 13 авг 2013, 07:53

Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc

Сообщение Vlad »

We just wasting time
Show me the drive, where "read flash" button dumps invalid rom
Yes - I will fix this or make some other thing to protect users from this
Can not find such drive, nothing to fix
Severence
Сообщения: 33
Зарегистрирован: 01 янв 2017, 10:28

Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc

Сообщение Severence »

Yes - I will fix this or make some other thing to protect users from this
Thats great to hear, thank you!!! :)
Show me the drive, where "read flash" button dumps invalid rom
Agree, but what specifically can you do?, like i've said over and over the drive is not accessible with WDmarvel or any other software tool with the drive in it's current state. it just shows bsy and doesn't respond to reset commands, detection

I can make it accessible in software for you by putting it in one of the previously mentioned hardware "modes" but i don't know what good it'll do - best i've got is rom read = 16mb invalid file

but yeah, take a look at my hardware defined "modes" previously mentioned and let me know which "mode" i should put it in and your welcome to take a look, although you won't be able to re-produce my previously mentioned results with the drive in it's current condition - as that was before i wrote the invalid rom file and the drive flatlined ;)
Аватара пользователя
Vlad
Разработчик
Сообщения: 4815
Зарегистрирован: 13 авг 2013, 07:53

Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc

Сообщение Vlad »

If WDMarvel really create invalid dumps, you can show this on any another WD drive, this not a problem at all :)
I am programmer and can not help you with resistors
Shows bsy???
Drives with damaged ROM that I seen, does not set any flags
Do the drive start spindle motor when you power on it?
If you can make drive accessible in software, why you do not write good ROM image from another drive?
Do you need data from the drive?
Severence
Сообщения: 33
Зарегистрирован: 01 янв 2017, 10:28

Re: Ran WDMarvel and now getting no model and LBA 0 etc

Сообщение Severence »

The valid rom i'm using is the one created with sediv and is from the same drive (i'm only working with one WD drive here) hence my confusion over the differences in the rom dumped by WDmarvel compared to the one dumped with sediv - i'll reiterate as i think this is important same drive :D

yes it just shows bsy. When i select an unused port in WDmarvel it also shows BSY

The drive does not sound like it's spinning up nor in any of the "modes" previously mentioned.

When i say accessible, i mean WDMarvel can see it and the drive responds to reset commands etc

Btw in my "semi detect mode" i just tried "Ram operations" "edit config in Ram" (to try and upload mod 02 based on your previous suggestion) but the log fills with EF FF EF FF over and over - then the program locks up and i can't do any more - any ideas what happening here? anyway to disable to the log?
Ответить